U.S. leadership across party affiliations has long opposed torture, with the prominent example of President Ronald Reagan’s 1988 signing of the Convention Against Torture. The president noted then that “Ratification of the Convention by the United States will clearly express United States opposition to torture, an abhorrent practice unfortunately still prevalent in the world today.” President Barack Obama signed an executive order in 2009, ending the CIA’s use of torture and cruel treatment, and in November 2015, led by Senators John McCain (R-AZ) and Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Congress enshrined key elements of that executive order into U.S. law, solidifying the ban on torture.

Download CVT’s complete Ten Facts About Torture here.